Good time to be a third-person action fan

There is quite a bit of genre blending going on in third person action games these days. The trend is toward large open world games that try to do everything. Games that combine shooting and melee combat, RPG, and stealth elements, all in the same game, are becoming the norm. These innovations have produced some awesome games, but I also enjoy third person action games that are more linear and focus on melee combat (otherwise known as hack ‘n’ slash). Luckily there are a number of these due for release at the end of the year. Here is a list:

bayonetta-logo-01
Bayonetta
From the maker of Devil May Cry and Okami, Bayonetta’s combat revolves around the use of combos delivered by both melee and long ranged attacks. Game play looks super fast and smooth.

darksiders_logo
Darksiders
Exploration and puzzles feature as much as combat in this one. Quite a cool art style, with big over sized badass characters.

dantes-inferno-logo
Dante’s Inferno
Tame huge beasts and ride them to fight enemies. The tortured environments of hell are set to be the star of the show.

god_of_war_iii
God of War 3
The God of War series reigns supreme in the hack ‘n’ slash genre and the level of hype for GOW3 is off the scale!

nier logo
Nier
This is Square Enix’s crack at the genre. The competition is formidable, it will be interesting to see if they can measure up!?

castlevania_logo_black
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Patrick Stewart and Robert Carlyle’s voice acting alone should make this game worthwhile and Hideo Kojima’s involvement will mean it has amazing production values. It could be the best of the lot!?

Trico
The Last Guardian
There’s still a lot of mystery surrounding this one, but the pedigree of Team Ico is all that’s needed to create anticipation.

Worth a mention:

brutal_logo
Brutal Legend
An open world hack ‘n’ slasher by Tim Schafer who has the dubious honour of making the highest rated game to sell the least number of copies (Psychonauts). Jack Black voices the main character and Ozzy Osbourne also features in this Heavy Metalfest.

ASSASSINS_comp_logo
Assassins Creed 2
Doesn’t really need any explanation and more an open world action adventure than hack ‘n’ slash? but I’m really looking forward to it.

Although all the games are looking like they will be extremely high quality, I won’t be able to get them all. At the moment my picks are Dante’s Inferno and Darksiders mainly because I’m attracted to the art styles of both the games. Dante’s is really gritty, dark, and twisted, and it looks like they’ve nailed the fire and brimstone atmosphere of hell perfectly. Darksiders is a lot more colourful and just looks like an epic apocalyptic world to explore. I’m sure GOW3 will be fantastic and will no doubt be a day one purchase when/if I get a PS3.

6 Responses to “Good time to be a third-person action fan”

  1. Nice blog post mate.. Good round up of some of the good ones coming..
    All in your fav genre too! You’ll be like a rabid dog orgasming on your controller with the set of these in your hands!!

    Yeah hard to pick a few early on, We certainly will have alot of rentals to go through lol
    All look interesting but..
    Brutal Legend certainly isnt on my list, looked average imo, well theres better out there and clearly coming…
    Bayonetta is a bit too much for me (too japanese’e), Not planning on having another epileptic attack after having one just watching the trailers lol
    Dont know anything about Nier, will have to look it up, being Square Enix id usually know about it…
    All others are certainly on my list of playing!! Certainly really want to try Dantes Inferno and Castlevania! GoW may have had its day, could it just be more of the same? Will have to wait and see what extra it offers apart from just better graphics from the first two…

    • Woof Woof!

      Yeah, I can see Brutal Legend being one of those games that has a strong cult following, but it’s not on my wishlist at the moment. I’ll have to wait and see what the reviews say. Likewise Bayonetta looks a bit too over the top Japanese’e for me too. I think if I play AC2, Darksiders, Dante’s, and GoW3 all when they’re released I’ll get burnt out, so I’ll probably string out the purchases over 2010.

      I could also add The Force Unleashed – Ultimate Sith Edition to the list of upcoming hack ‘n’ slashers. The original seemed like a pretty decent game and this adds a ton of extra content. It’ll fall into the large category of games that I’d get if I see them in a bargain bin.

  2. Great post! Very pretty with all it’s little pictures πŸ™‚ But no love for the sequel to my fave third person action game to date?? πŸ˜‰ I’m on my third play through of Uncharted and still loving it and can’t wait for Uncharted 2! It’s quite a short game so it’s pretty easy to play through many times over but it’s packed full of awesome! πŸ˜€
    I’m also looking forward to God of War III and the recently announced re-release of I & II! I doubt that God of War III has had it’s day? How many games out there have had sequel after sequel generation after generation? This will be the first time we’ve seen it in HD with more on screen enemies and levels that exist on the backs of Titans! The original games weren’t known for bringing anything completely new to the table or revolutionising anything in any way. What they were known for is for being the “best of breed” and providing production values that were off the chart. Saying that I am personally much more hyped for The Last Guardian! I ❀ Team Ico and all they touch is gold in my books!! Good times to be a Third Person Action Gaming fan!!

  3. Uncharted 2 is a game that did come to mind, not sure why I left it out in the end. I was focusing more on hack ‘n’ slashers than shooters but as I mentioned genres are getting harder to define.
    It is looking really good! The shooting mechanic that it employs mixed with the exploration probably makes it a bit more unique than the others.

    Games night at your place when it’s released!! πŸ˜€

  4. Yeah, you’re right. It’s getting harder and harder to draw the line. Which is good because it indicates that games are becoming more nuanced! I think Uncharted fits firmly into “third person action” but due to your own personal taste and preferences the above list mostly tends towards the “hack ‘n’ slash’ side of things. Not sure if The Last guardian fits entirely on that list? Although as we don’t know enough about The Last Guardian we can’t say for sure and if Ico provides anything to go by it may indeed include some hack’n’slashing antics as the only combat in Ico consisted entirely of hackin’ and slashin’ your way through evil spirits with a stick lol Not so much hack’n’slash as hack’n’thrash πŸ˜€ You could however unlock a lightsaber like weapon on your second play through!! Assassins Creed is more hack’n’stab! Hehe Wolverine is hack’n’gash! haha I’ll stop now although I’m tempted to go through every action game and categorise it by this method now πŸ˜€

  5. Very good list! Am interested in GoW 1,2 and 3 and that’s about it for me. Never really been my genre, but I have to say after spending several months on inFamous there’s room in my life for a couple. Completely agree on the blurring of the lines between genres.

Leave a Reply

