The games I’m looking forward to in 2009’ish

I’ve just been looking at projected release dates and there’re many games I’m looking forward playing coming out later this year. Although how many of them will actually make it out this year is any ones guess the ones below have a projected release date of 2009? They are roughly in order of expected release and I’ve highlighted the ones with a red star that are my must buys at this stage)…

InFamous *

You shoot lightening bolts from your hands and leap from tall buildings!

Wolfenstein

You vaporise Nazis!

God of War III *

You battle the Gods!

Beyond Good & Evil 2

The sequal to the best game on PS2 that nobody ever played!

Bioshock 2

You are Big Daddy!?

Assassins Creed 2 *

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Hopefully the sequel just retains the best and fixes up the worst. We now have this teaser website…

Uncharted 2 *

I love action adventure games. Uncharted is one of the best ever. Hopefully Uncharted 2 will be somehow even better.

Deus Ex 3

I’ve only briefly played Deus Ex but I’m curious to see what they do with this in a post Fallout 3 world.

Doom 4

Hey, it’s Doom! No details as yet so I linked to the Rage demo above. Doom 4 will supposedly look better than Rage but will run at a slower 30fps.

Bayonetta

It’s supposed to be a super hard core, gruellingly punishing game? Are we talking Ninja Gaiden difficult? Sounds like it.

Heavy Rain

Is it one big quicktime event or is there more to this stunning looking mystery adventure game.

So heaps on its way that I’m interested in. What’s on your lists?

3 Responses to “The games I’m looking forward to in 2009’ish”

  1. roscopct Says:

    That’s a very good list, BUT… Any decent racing games coming out? 🙂
    I like racing games.

  2. Haha, I’ll do a racing game round up then 😉 None on that list but I know of some that are coming out but maybe not till next year?

  3. Up coming games I’m looking forward to for 2009

    Puzzle Kingdoms DS

    Made by the same developers that bought us PQ Challenge of the Warlords and Galactrix. It has the same match three gameplay but has a more strategic element to the world map. It’s scheduled to be released this month? but there has been no news about it since last year so I don’t know if it will be delayed? Maybe the release date is too soon after Galactrix? Currently flying under the radar but one I’m really looking forward to!

    *Trivia alert* I was surprised to find out Puzzle Quest was developed in Australia!? I would never have guessed that.

    Red Faction Guerrilla

    An open world game set on Mars. Destruction is the name of the game with what they’re calling the best destruction physics in gaming. Every building has realistic modeling and chipping away at the key supports will bring the whole structure down. Should be a fun sandbox to play in!

    Saboteur

    Another WWII game but this one’s not a shooter. It has you employing stealth and guerrilla tactics against the Nazis in occupied territory.

    Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell Conviction

    Sounds like a cross between Assassins Creed and Metal Gear Solid. This game has been heavily delayed so I hope it’s worth the wait!

    Alan Wake

    A game that has been delayed so long it risks the vaporware tag. There was a LOT of hype for this game as far back as 2005 where it won awards at E3. It’s an adventure-themed title, with a huge world to explore and an emphasis on a story. It’s one of those situations were they’ve either spent a lot of time polishing an incredible game or they’ve had to redo large parts because the gameplay sucked! I hope it’s not the latter!

    Infinite Space DS

    An RPG set in space where you can upgrade and modify your ships.

    Dragon Age

    Bioware RPG….nuff said.

Leave a comment