Riddick: A movie-based game that’s actually good?!

I missed playing The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay when it came out on the original xbox back in 2004. It was rated as one of the very best single player experiences on the xbox and was only marked down for being a tad too short and having no multi-player. It was released just before (and was probably overshadowed by the hype surrounding) Halo 2. I saw it in a bargain bin at Kmart for about $20 after the 360 came out and have been kicking myself that I didn’t get it. Thankfully Starbreeze have decided to add the original game in with the upcoming release of Assault On Dark Athena, the next chapter in the story, so it’s two games for the price of one πŸ˜‰ That’s almost Orange Box style value! although I think both games are each only about ten hours long. EFBB has also been given the full upgrade for this-gen consoles, with updated character models, textures, etc. I downloaded the new demo, which is pretty short but it gives a good feeling of the atmosphere of the game and I suppose it’s done it’s job because I’m getting really interested in this game again! I really love the gritty sci-fi universe that Riddick inhabits and from what I can tell from playing the demo and watching trailers, the spectacular production values, voice acting and story mean, gamers will be able to fully immerse themselves once again when The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault On Dark Athena ships next month πŸ™‚

box image

box image

2 Responses to “Riddick: A movie-based game that’s actually good?!”

  1. phyzznick Says:

    Will be sick playing multiplayer with 8-16 other Riddicks ganking each other with knifes lol πŸ˜‰ Multi-superhuman gankfest

  2. It does look good and I’d be tempted to get it on PS3 as I love the movies a lot but I think I’m more looking forward to InFamous and MadWorld although this is at least a proven game having essentially been out before and well received.

Leave a Reply

